Letter From The Editor

In the past couple of weeks, my fitness journey has encountered a variety of challenges. During a difficult chest press, my right wrist bent backwards too far too far. So now, there is a stinging pain if I grip something too tightly. Alongside that, I’ve also been dealing with personal struggles that have made my workouts feel burdensome. Because of these personal struggles I have lost a lot of passion and motivation to continue training. Now when I workout, which at my strongest point was rewarding and therapeutic, had become a reminder of my limitations. But during these moments, I’ve come to appreciate the importance of adaptability I built in my many years in fitness. These setbacks have been a reminder that even when life becomes difficult, I have ways to overcome them. I took several days off at the gym and I spent some much needed time with my mother. Now, I only do dance practice until I feel comfortable enough to step back into the gym. So, while the past few weeks have hard on me physically and emotionally, I’m committed to using these challenges to fuel me to become better.

All difficulties in the gym are serious but my issue is not nearly as difficult as dealing with an injury. Nothing can set you off your fitness journey than being bed-ridden for several months. It feels nearly impossible to find that passion again. But that is why the blog “MadandFit” can be greatly beneficial to those dealing with these circumstances. It offers insights into low-impact exercises, mindfulness techniques, and nutrition tips to support recovery. It also emphasizes the importance of seeking professional guidance and following personal plans to ensure a safe and effective healing process.

This blog is meant as a safe environment to help navigate people through their issues. Fitness is meant to help us, but when life is difficult, it can feel like a burden .The fitness industry focuses too much on look-maxing that can sometimes disheartening to those with an injury. This blog exists to provide readers a sense of encouragement, empathy and tools to overcome adversity. I hope to see you there.


Comments

Leave a comment